Institute Medal

Institute Medal

The American Iron and Steel Institute Medal has been awarded each year since 1929 to the author(s) of a technical paper having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry. The Medal is awarded by the AISI Board of Directors on the recommendation of the Committee on Manufacturing Technology.

2020 Institute Medal Winner

Separation of Mill Scale from Flume Wastewater with a Dynamic Separator towards Zero Wastes in the Steel Hot Rolling Process

— Naiyang Ma, Billi J. McDowell, Joseph B. Houser, Marcelo W. Andrade, Dale E. Heinz

Finalist: ArcelorMittal
Numerical and Experimental Studies on Fluid Flow and Microbubble Entrapment During
Continuous Casting With a Curved Mold Design

— R. Liu, R. Zhou – Purdue University Northwest, H. Yin, Bruce Forman, and Rudolf Moravec

Finalist: SSAB
An Optimization Model for Making Alloy Additions During Steelmaking at SSAB Iowa
Yufeng Wang, Sunday Abraham, Rick Bodnar, Randy Petty, Gary Brown, Preston Schaaf, and Myrissa Maxfield,