AISI Announces 2018 Institute Medal Winners

May 1, 2018

Washington, D.C.– This morning, the American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) presented nine industry researchers with its highest technical award – the 2018 Institute Medal – for the paper “Deformation Mode and Strain Path Dependence of Martensite Phase Transformation in a Medium Manganese TRIP Steel.”

The recipients are Louis G. Hector, Jr., GM Global Technical, General Motors Corporation; Xiaohua Hu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; Panagiotis Makrygiannis, AK Steel Research and Innovation; Yang Ren, X-ray Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory; Xin Sun, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Grant A. Thomas, AK Steel Research and Innovation; Yu-Wei Wang, AK Steel Research and Innovation; Wei Wu, AK Steel Research and Innovation; Feng Zhu, AK Steel Research and Innovation.

The award was presented by AISI chairman of the board, and CEO of AK Steel, Roger Newport, during the 2018 General Meeting in Washington, D.C. at the Mayflower Hotel.

“It is my honor to congratulate this year’s Institute Medal winners and finalists on their outstanding achievements,” said Newport.  “We thank them for their tireless efforts to ensure that the North American steel industry remains among the most competitive in the world through continued innovation and development.”

Established in 1927, the Institute Medal and two Finalist Medals are awarded for technical papers having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry.  Papers are judged on the potential value to future prosperity of the industry, technical excellence and originality, effective communication and breadth of interest to AISI members.

The inscription on the medal reads: “American Iron and Steel Institute Medal, established by American Iron and Steel Institute, October 28, 1927, to perpetuate the memory of Elbert H. Gary, founder and first president, and to stimulate improvement in the iron and steel and allied industries.”

Finalist medals were also awarded to:

  • Dongwei Fan, ArcelorMittal Global R&D; Negin Jahangiri, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University; Hyunjo Jun, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company; Pallava Kaushik, ArcelorMittal Global R&D; and, Howie Pielet, ArcelorMittal Global R&D for their paper titled “Bending Performance Improvement of Dual-Phase Steel With 1000-MPa Tensile Strength.”
  • Eugene Nikitenko, Senior Research Consultant, U. S. Steel Research and Technology, for his paper titled “Flatness Control in Finishing Stands of the Hot Strip Mill With Primary and Secondary Actuators.”


Contact: Lisa Harrison
202.452.7115 /

AISI serves as the voice of the North American steel industry in the public policy arena and advances the case for steel in the marketplace as the preferred material of choice. AISI also plays a lead role in the development and application of new steels and steelmaking technology. AISI is comprised of 21 member companies, including integrated and electric furnace steelmakers, and approximately 120 associate members who are suppliers to or customers of the steel industry. For more news about steel and its applications, view AISI’s website at Follow AISI on Facebook or Twitter (@AISISteel).