AISI’s Committee on Manufacturing Technology (COMT) gives direction to the Collaborative Research and Development Program. The COMT meets twice per year and holds conference calls as needed.


To provide AISI members technological awareness, anticipation, evaluation and leadership addressing opportunities and competitive threats to ensure steel continues as the material of choice.


Increase the competitiveness of the North American steel industry by:

  • Lowering energy use and CO2 emissions
  • Lowering emissions to our environment
  • Enhancing product performance
  • Leveraging steel industry resources and risk


You must be a member of AISI to be eligible to participate in the COMT.  There are two types of membership within the COMT:  Producer and Associate

Producer COMT Members

  • Algoma
  • AK Steel
  • ArcelorMittal
  • California Steel Industries
  • Cliffs
  • Nucor
  • SSAB
  • TimkenSteel
  • U.S. Steel

Associate COMT Members

  • Berry Metal
  • SMS-group
  • Syscon Sensors
  • Tenova

If you are interested in being involved or becoming a member, please contact Michael Sortwell.

Technology Roadmap

2017 Technology Roadmap – COMING SOON!

Institute Medal

The American Iron and Steel Institute Medal has been awarded each year since 1929 to the author(s) of a technical paper having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry. The Medal is awarded by the AISI Board of Directors on the recommendation of the Committee on Manufacturing Technology.

2017 Winner - SSAB

COMT Institute Medal SSAB
From left to right – Tom Gibson, John Ferriola, Jerry Peters, Sunday Abraham, Jeff Moskaluk

“Development of an Image Analysis Technique for Quantitative Evaluation of Centerline Segregation in As-Cast Products”

Sunday Abraham, Principal Research Engineer; Josh Cottrell, Research Analyst; Justin Raines, Research Engineer; Yufeng Wang, Research Engineer; Rick Bodnar, Director of Research and Development; Samuel Wilder, Associate Metallurgist; Jason Thomas, Director of Technical Services; and, Jerry Peters, Manager of Casting

2017 Finalist - TimkenSteel

COMT Institute Medal Timken Award
From left to right – John Ferriola, Peter Glaws, Christopher Eastman Jr., Tim Timken, Tom Gibson, Ray Fryan

“Steel Quality Improvements with Vertical Continuous Casting at Faircrest Steel Plant”

Christopher M. Eastman Jr., Principal Product and Process Development Engineer, and Peter C. Glaws, Senior Scientist, Materials

2017 Finalist - ArcelorMittal

COMT Institute Medal ArcelorMittal Award
From left to right – John Ferriola, Kevin Eldridge, Sean Donnelly, Tom Gibson

“Weight Savings for Chassis Parts Using Steel – The S-in motion® Mid-size Chassis”

Elie Gibeau, Ph.D., Research Engineer, and Kevin Eldridge, Projects Manager

2017 Medal Video