AISI Announces 2017 Institute Medal Winners

May 23, 2017

(L-R) Thomas J. Gibson, president and CEO, American Iron and Steel Institute; John Ferriola, Chairman, President and CEO, Nucor Corporation, and AISI Board Chairman; Jerry Peters, Manager of Casting, SSAB; Sunday Abraham, Principal Research Engineer, SSAB; and Josh Cottrell, Research Analyst, SSAB

* Additional photos available upon request

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This morning, The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) presented eight industry researchers with its highest technical award – the 2017 Institute Medal – for the paper “Development of an Image Analysis Technique for Quantitative Evaluation of Centerline Segregation in As-Cast Products.” The recipients, all researchers at SSAB, are Sunday Abraham, Principal Research Engineer; Josh Cottrell, Research Analyst; Justin Raines, Research Engineer; Yufeng Wang, Research Engineer; Rick Bodnar, Director of Research and Development; Samuel Wilder, Associate Metallurgist; Jason Thomas, Director of Technical Services; and, Jerry Peters, Manager of Casting. They were presented the award by John Ferriola, Chairman, President and CEO, Nucor Corporation, and AISI Board Chairman during the 2017 General Meeting in Washington, D.C. at The Four Seasons Hotel.

“Our industry’s leadership in manufacturing innovation is possible because of the critical work put forth by the top-notch researchers the steel industry employs,” said Ferriola. “We congratulate the Institute Medal winners and finalists on their outstanding work and thank them for their continued contributions to keeping the North American steel industry at the forefront of R&D and innovation.”

Established in 1927, the Institute Medal and two Finalist Medals are awarded for technical papers having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry. Papers are judged on the potential value to future prosperity of the industry, technical excellence and originality, effective communication and breadth of interest to AISI members.

The inscription on the medal reads: “American Iron and Steel Institute Medal, established by American Iron and Steel Institute, October 28, 1927, to perpetuate the memory of Elbert H. Gary, founder and first president, and to stimulate improvement in the iron and steel and allied industries.”

Finalist medals were also awarded to:

  • Christopher M. Eastman Jr., Principal Product and Process Development Engineer, TimkenSteel Corp., and Peter C. Glaws, Senior Scientist, Materials, TimkenSteel Corp., for their paper titled “Steel Quality Improvements with Vertical Continuous Casting at Faircrest Steel Plant.”
  • Elie Gibeau, Ph.D., Research Engineer, ArcelorMittal Global R&D, and Kevin Eldridge, Projects Manager, ArcelorMittal Global R&D, for their paper titled “Weight Savings for Chassis Parts Using Steel – The S-in motion® Mid-size Chassis.”


Contact: Lisa Harrison
202.452.7115 /

AISI serves as the voice of the North American steel industry in the public policy arena and advances the case for steel in the marketplace as the preferred material of choice. AISI also plays a lead role in the development and application of new steels and steelmaking technology. AISI is comprised of 19 member companies, including integrated and electric furnace steelmakers, and approximately 120 associate members who are suppliers to or customers of the steel industry. For more news about steel and its applications, view AISI’s website at Follow AISI on Facebook or Twitter (@AISISteel).