Institute Medal Past Winners

2017 Winner - SSAB

COMT Institute Medal SSAB
From left to right – Tom Gibson, John Ferriola, Jerry Peters, Sunday Abraham, Jeff Moskaluk

“Development of an Image Analysis Technique for Quantitative Evaluation of Centerline Segregation in As-Cast Products”

Sunday Abraham, Principal Research Engineer; Josh Cottrell, Research Analyst; Justin Raines, Research Engineer; Yufeng Wang, Research Engineer; Rick Bodnar, Director of Research and Development; Samuel Wilder, Associate Metallurgist; Jason Thomas, Director of Technical Services; and, Jerry Peters, Manager of Casting

2017 Finalist - TimkenSteel

COMT Institute Medal Timken Award
From left to right – John Ferriola, Peter Glaws, Christopher Eastman Jr., Tim Timken, Tom Gibson, Ray Fryan

“Steel Quality Improvements with Vertical Continuous Casting at Faircrest Steel Plant”

Christopher M. Eastman Jr., Principal Product and Process Development Engineer, and Peter C. Glaws, Senior Scientist, Materials

2017 Finalist - ArcelorMittal

COMT Institute Medal ArcelorMittal Award
From left to right – John Ferriola, Kevin Eldridge, Sean Donnelly, Tom Gibson

“Weight Savings for Chassis Parts Using Steel – The S-in motion® Mid-size Chassis”

Elie Gibeau, Ph.D., Research Engineer, and Kevin Eldridge, Projects Manager