AISI Announces 2013 Institute Medal Winners

AISI Logo Hypocycloid




For Immediate Release
May 17, 2013
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) today awarded its highest technical award, the 2013 Institute Medal, to four industry authors for their winning paper, “Effects of Deformation Behavior and Processing Temperature on the Fatigue Performance of Deep-Rolled Medium Carbon Bar Steels.” Authors Mark Richards, research metallurgist for EVRAZ North America (formerly of the Colorado School of Mines); John Speer, professor at Colorado School of Mines; and, Mike Burnett, technologist at The Timken Company, were presented the Institute Medal by AISI Chairman Michael T. Rehwinkel, who is also President and CEO of EVRAZ North America.  David Matlock, professor at the Colorado School of Mines and the fourth award recipient, was not present at the ceremony.

“The Institute Medal highlights the important work that is essential to meeting our customer’s needs and to our industry’s future prosperity,” said  Thomas J. Gibson, president and CEO of AISI. Thomas J. Gibson.  “We congratulate the authors on their contributions to the technological advances of our industry and applaud their hard work, dedication and intensive research that won them this distinguished recognition.”

Established in 1927, the Institute Medal and two Finalist Medals are awarded for technical papers having special merit and importance in connection with the activities and interests of the iron and steel industry.  Papers are judged on the potential value to future prosperity of the industry, technical excellence and originality, effective communication and breadth of interest to AISI members. 

The inscription on the medal reads: “American Iron and Steel Institute Medal, established by American Iron and Steel Institute, October 28, 1927, to perpetuate the memory of Elbert H. Gary, founder and first president, and to stimulate improvement in the iron and steel and allied industries.”

The Finalist medals were awarded to:

  • “Austenite Stability Effects on Tensile Behavior of Manganese-Enriched-Austenite Transformation-Induced Plasticity Steel,” authored by Emmanuel De Moor, research assistant professor; David K. Matlock, Armco Foundation Fogarty professor; and John G. Speer, professor, all of the Colorado School of Mines; as well as Bjørn Clausen, technical staff member, SMARTS Instrument Scientist; Paul J. Gibbs, post-doctoral research associate, Los Alamos National Laboratory; and Matthew J. Merwin, research consultant, United States Steel Research and Technology Center.
  • "Development of Technology for the Production of HIC resistant Slabs for Sour Service Applications at ArcelorMittal Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico,” authored by Amar K. De, lead research engineer, plate and energy market products, ArcelorMittal Global R&D; Tomas Elias, director, flat products; Ruben Garcia, inspection manager; Francisco Lopez, process engineer, melt shop; German Lopez, head, melt shop; Jorge Nieto, head of quality, all of ArcelorMittal Lázaro Cárdenas, Mexico; and Gustavo Campos, director, marketing, ArcelorMittal Mexico.

Recognition of the Institute Medal Winners and Finalists took place on Friday, May 17, 2013, during the AISI’s 121st General Meeting at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado. 

Contact: Lisa Harrison

Click here for a PDF version of this release click here.

AISI serves as the voice of the North American steel industry in the public policy arena and advances the case for steel in the marketplace as the preferred material of choice.  AISI also plays a lead role in the development and application of new steels and steelmaking technology.  AISI is comprised of 24 member companies, including integrated and electric furnace steelmakers, and 123 associate members who are suppliers to or customers of the steel industry.  AISI’s member companies represent over three quarters of both U.S. and North American steel capacity.  For more news about steel and its applications, view AISI’s website at